National Puppy Day & DIY Puppy Treats

In honor of National Puppy Day I want to share with you my latest DIY project. I have been making dog treats for Charlie for a while but I finally found these super cute silicone baking molds shaped like paw prints and dog biscuits to make them in. These are much much cuter than the blobs I made before. I didn’t have a mold so I would just use a cookie scoop and plop the batter on the wax paper and spread it out. I spread it out so that it was a thin wide treat so Charlie didn’t inhale the whole treat in one bite. Does anyone else have a dog that would do that??

IMG_20170320_174207

You can find these molds on Amazon here.

IMG_20170319_185611_906

While I was making the treats, this guy waits very impatiently. He knows the smell is familiar and that these are for him.

The recipe for these is so easy, well, there really isn’t a recipe. It is basically whatever I have in my refrigerator at the time that is safe for Charlie.

I start with canned pumpkin (organic if possible), plain yogurt (again organic if possible) and coconut oil. I use Nutiva unrefined coconut oil just because that is what I buy for us so that is what Charlie gets in his treats! I usually get a good deal on it on Amazon or Sams club.

I also add a few sprigs of parsley if I have it and a few drops of Young Living therapeutic grade Peppermint Vitality essential oil. Not all essential oils are made the same so I only recommend Young Living. If you know the source of the oils you are using, just be careful that they are safe for ingesting and not made up of toxic synthetics. I have mentioned before that I love my oils and we use them everyday. You can find that post here.

DSC_3463-2

After I mix all the ingredients well, making sure to mix the coconut oil completely so you don’t have large clumps, then I use a cookie scoop and fill each spot on the molds. Then I put the mold in the freezer and clean up my mess. Usually by this time, poor Charlie is staring me down and drooling. He really doesn’t drool much at all unless he truly believes that a treat is coming his way. In this case, he knows.

After about 30 minutes, I take out the trays and pop the treats out of the mold. They fortunately pop out super easy. I tossed them on a plate for a quick picture then toss them right in a ziploc bag and in to the freezer. Keep these in the freezer and you can take them out one at a time for your pup.

IMG_20170322_153204803_HDR

IMG_20170322_153810_262

IMG_20170323_075230_624

Of course we needed a few pictures of Charlie as a puppy on puppy day!

IMG_20170323_073929_129

This picture is where Charlie got his name. Charlie the Sunshine Dog.Β 

What are you doing with your puppy to celebrate today? I think we are going to the local park this afternoon to enjoy the sunshine and take some pictures.

 

Recipe:

DIY Pumpkin Dog Treats

1 can of pumpkin (organic if possible)

1 container plain yogurt (organic if possible)

1/4 cup coconut oil (you can add as much or as little of this as you would like)

3 drops Young Living Peppermint oil

You can adjust all of these ingredients to what you have in your fridge. You can also add some parsley for fresh breath! Mix ingredients thoroughly and scoop with a cookie scoop into molds. Freeze molds for 30 minutes. Keep treats in the freezer and use as needed.

If you want to see more of Charlie the Sunshine Dog, you can follow him on Instagram here.

Facebook here.

Twitter here.

If you would like to learn more about Young Living essential oils you hop over to my website here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

