DIY Lavender Body Butter

I just had to share this recipe that I found last week while searching and searching for something great to make a friend of mine for her baby shower! I am not super familiar with the latest baby products considering we don’t have children. Not that I don’t love babies but as I have mentioned before, the cards are stacked against us in that aspect and we haven’t been blessed with a child aside from our four legged fur baby Charlie. So, when I search for a shower gift, I want to either get something super personal and thoughtful or, make something! So, I started browsing recipes for new Mom’s, or women pregnant with their first kiddo and babies in general. Anything that might help my friend through her pregnancy or the the first couple of months with a newborn. I stumbled on this recipe for body butter and I thought, how perfect is that for the growing belly. I am sure that thing gets itchy from the stretching and growing the precious baby! Right??

For this recipe the ingredients were pretty simple.

1/2 cup shea butter

1/2 cup solid coconut oil

1/2 cup almond oil

Melt all the ingredients in a double boiler until completely melted and then cool for at least 30 minutes, until the oils start to solidify. Then whip in stand mixer until light and fluffy. About 5 minutes. Add 10 -20 drops of high quality therapeutic grade essential oils (I use Young Living) and then whip again to mix.

That’s it! How easy is that? I was so nervous to try it and mess it up but it was so easy and it turned out PERFECT! Well, I think so anyways, I hope my friend thought so too when she opened her gift!

IMG_20170328_195915

IMG_20170328_200310

I have accumulated quite a few oils so far since my oily journey began a little over a year ago. So when I find a recipe that calls for an oil I already have, I am pretty stoked. I LOVE making recipes from scratch rather than using the crappy store bought stuff with more ingredients that we can even read!

IMG_20170328_195839

IMG_20170328_195814

 

 

 

After I added the oils, I put the butter in to these wide mouth mason jars (like these). They are the perfect size. The recipe made enough to fill 5 jars.

IMG_20170322_163824_043

 

What are your favorite baby shower gifts to give? What are your favorites to receive? I am always looking for new ideas! I did a gift basket in a canvas tote matching her theme, with books for the baby, a super soft blanket, the lotion and a bottle of Gentle Baby essential oil blend along with the Gentle Baby book! I hope she loved it!

If you are curious about essential oils or would like to learn more about my oily journey you can check out my website here.

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Lavender Body Butter

  1. sewicked says:

    My fave baby shower gifts are cloth diapers. Even if the family uses disposable diapers, cloth diapers work as burp cloths, cleaning rags, etc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

